• Русский
  • Українська
  • English
Tag: strategy development

The Holistic Critical Thinking Scoring Rubric – HCTSR

A Tool for Developing and Evaluating Critical Thinking

The Holistic Critical Thinking Scoring Rubric (HCTSR) is an internationally known rating tool used to assess the quality of thinking displayed in verbal presentations or written reports. The HCTSR can be used in any training program or assessment process. Its greatest value is obtained when used by trainees to assess the quality of their own or another’s reasoning. The exercise of applying this holistic evaluation leads trainees to internalize descriptions of strong (and weak) thinking.

Continue reading this material you can here


Critical Thinking in Everyday Life: 9 Strategies

Most of us are not what we could be. We are less. We have great capacity. But most of it is dormant; most is undeveloped. Improvement in thinking is like improvement in basketball, in ballet, or in playing the saxophone. It is unlikely to take place in the absence of a conscious commitment to learn. As long as we take our thinking for granted, we don’t do the work required for improvement.

Development in thinking requires a gradual process requiring plateaus of learning and just plain hard work. It is not possible to become an excellent thinker simply because one wills it. Changing one’s habits of thought is a long-range project, happening over years, not weeks or months. The essential traits of a critical thinker require an extended period of development.

How, then, can we develop as critical thinkers? How can we help ourselves and our students to practice better thinking in everyday life?

First, we must understand that there are stages required for development as a critical thinker:

Stage One: The Unreflective Thinker (we are unaware of significant problems in our thinking)
Stage Two: The Challenged Thinker (we become aware of problems in our thinking)
Stage Three: The Beginning Thinker (we try to improve but without regular practice)
Stage Four: The Practicing Thinker (we recognize the necessity of regular practice)
Stage Five: The Advanced Thinker (we advance in accordance with our practice)
Stage Six: The Master Thinker (skilled & insightful thinking become second nature to us)

– Далее –